Two new appointments to the Waitangi Tribunal

Two people have been appointed as members of the Waitangi Tribunal this month: Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith (Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Porou) and Dr Thomas Roa (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato Tainui).

‘The new appointments are an important recognition of the types of skills and capabilities needed for Tribunal panels,’ says Grace Smit, Director, Waitangi Tribunal. ‘Increasingly the Waitangi Tribunal is receiving urgency applications largely regarding settlements and Crown policy. This work, in addition to the kaupapa inquiry programme, and the completion of the District Inquiry programme, requires members with extensive expertise across a range of areas.’

Waitangi Tribunal members come from all walks of life and are appointed for their expertise in the matters that are likely to come before them. They are appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister for Māori Development.

Professor Smith and Dr Roa join these members who have been reappointed for three year terms: Dr Robyn Anderson, Dr Aroha Harris, Dr Ann Parsonson and Basil Morrison. 

‘I’d also like to acknowledge recent Waitangi Tribunal members, Sir Tamati Reedy and Sir Douglas Kidd. Both have provided active and valued service to the Tribunal,’ says Grace.

About the new members

Professor Smith is the Dean of the School of Māori and Pacific Development, the Professor of Education and Māori Development and Pro-Vice Chancellor Māori at the University of Waikato. See more about Professor Smith(external link).

Dr Roa is a lecturer at the University of Waikato and his research interests include the translation and interpretation of Māori-English. See more about Dr Roa(external link).

← Back to the news